Where is the largest dam in the world located?

The Three Gorges Hydroelectric Dam, in Hubei Province China, is the largest dam in the world. It can hold back more than five trillion gallons of water. It dams the Yangtze River, about 1,000 miles west of Shanghai. It is 1.4 miles wide and 630 feet high.