What is hip dysplasia in humans?

Hip dysplasia is a condition that is seen more often in women and occurs when the acetabulum (the socket in the pelvis into which the femoral head fits) is too shallow to support the femoral head (the ball-shaped bone at the top of the femur or thigh bone).