Who was the first united states poet laureate?

The first United States Poet Laureate was Joseph Auslander from 1937 to 1941.

---

In the United States poet Laureates were referred to as consultants to poetry until 1986. However in 1937 Joseph Auslander was the first to be consultant to poetry. In 1986 the first person to be named poet Laureate in the United States was named Robert Penn Warren.