What happened on september eleventh two thousand one in new york?

The September 11 attacks (also referred to as 9 11) were a series of four coordinated terrorist attacks by the Islamic terrorist group al-Qaeda, against the United States, on the morning of Tuesday, September 11, 2001. The attacks killed 2,977 people, and injured over 6,000 others.

---

Two of the planes hijacked by al-Qaeda terrorists were crashed into the North and South towers of the World Trade Center complex in Lower Manhattan. Within an hour and 42 minutes, both 110-story towers collapsed.