Which way should the fan blow in the winter?

During the summer you want the fan to blow air straight down, so your fan needs to run in a counter clockwise (forward) direction as you look up at it. During the winter, your fan should run on a low speed in a clockwise (reverse) direction, drawing the room air up, & pushing warm air down.