What is a nerf gun?

A Nerf Blaster is a toy gun made by Hasbro that fires foam darts, discs, or foam balls. The term "Nerf gun" is often used to describe the toy and also used as a blanket term for any foam dart blaster, regardless of whether or not it has the Nerf brand name.