Who is the actress in an officer and a gentleman?

Debra Winger played opposite Richard Gere in the 1982 romantic drama, 'An Officer and a Gentleman'. The film was well-received by critics, with many calling it the best film of 1982. It was also a financial success, grossing $190 million against a $7 million budget.