What's the difference between rutabaga and turnip?

Turnips and rutabagas are different plants. Turnips are Brassica rapa and rutabagas are Brassica napobrassica. The outside of a rutabaga is rough while a turnip is smooth. The inside of a turnip is white while a rutabaga is yellow.