What country created eggnog?

Most culinary historians agree eggnog originated from the early medieval Britain posset, a hot, milky, ale-like drink. By the 13th century, monks were known to drink a posset with eggs and figs. Milk, eggs, and sherry were foods of the wealthy, so it was used in toasts to prosperity and good health.