How old do you have to be to not use a car seat?

Car seat laws vary by state. In most states, a child under 4 to 5 years old, must be restrained in a car seat. Children 4 yrs to 8 yrs old, must be placed in a booster seat. The locations of the seats also vary by state, and might be located in the passenger seat or back seat. Check state law.