How do you craft sponges in minecraft?

There are 2 ways to get a wet sponge in Survival mode. Find them Growing in the Ocean Monument. You can add a wet sponge to your inventory in Survival mode by gathering wet sponges that grow naturally in the Ocean Monument (also called Guardian Temple). ... Find and Kill an Elder Guardian.