What is savage mean?

According to Dictionary.com, Savage means fierce, ferocious, or cruel; untamed, as a savage beast. It also mean enraged or furiously any other, as a savage person. Or, it can mean unpolished or rude, as savage manners. Or, wild or rugged, as country or scenery: savage wilderness.