What was george washington before he became the first president?

Young George Washington was a surveyor. He made a name for himself as a soldier during the French and Indian War (1754-1763). During the American Revolution, he was the Commander and Chief of the colonial forces and his actions saved the American Revolution, twice! He became a national hero.