Why is a water buffalo called a water buffalo?

Buffalo are also called water buffalo because they like to stay in the water in the hot country where they live. Their hooves are extra wide and prevent them from sinking into mud at the bottom of ponds, swamps and rivers.

---

Water buffalo live in the tropical and subtropical forests of Asia. They are aptly named, for they spend most of their time in water. Their hooves are extra wide and prevent them from sinking into mud at the bottom of ponds, swamps and rivers.