Why do cats lift their butts when you pet them?

An adult cat instinctively lifts their rear end in response to being petted near the base of the tail. ... Cats can transfer their scent via the anal glands. When they raise their tail to present this area, they're inviting you to confirm its identity as a member of the family and exchange scents.