When were christmas lights invented?

According to the Library of Congress: Thomas Edison put together the first strand of lights in 1880, Edward H. Johnson put together a strand of colored lights and put them on a tree in 1882, and Albert Sadacca suggested selling them to the public in 1917. All played a part in their invention.