How big is the goliath bird eater?

The South American Goliath birdeater is the world's largest spider. Its legs can reach up to one foot (or 30cm) and it can weight up to 6oz (or 170 grams).

---

At nearly one foot wide and weighing six ounces, the Goliath birdeater is the biggest spider on the planet in terms of weight.