Why are hush puppies called hush puppies?

Originally, cowboys would feed their dogs pieces of cornbread to keep them from whining

---

The first recorded use of the word "hush-puppy" dates to 1899. Used by hunters, fishermen, or cooks who would fry some basic cornmeal mixture (possibly that they had been bread-coating or battering their own food with) and feed it to their dogs to "hush the puppies" during cook-outs or fish-fries.