How do you open a muscle?

If you mean "muscle" you would use a scalpel. If you mean "mussel" you open it by holding it over a bowl hold the mussel firmly in your hand and insert a clam knife between the top and bottom shell. A towel can be used to protect your hand. Work the knife around to cut through the hinge muscle.