Who is rose bud?

“Rosebud” is the last word spoken by Citizen Kane's protagonist, Charles Kane, on his deathbed at the beginning of the film. The meaning of the word remains a mystery for much of the film, until “Rosebud” is eventually revealed to be the name of Kane's beloved sled from his childhood.