What is the minecraft one point seventeen update?

1.17, the first release of Caves & Cliffs, is a major update to Java Edition announced at Minecraft Live 2020 and released on June 8, 2021. This update adds amethyst geodes along with amethyst blocks and items, copper ore and its derived forms, deepslate and its variants, and the goat