What is the last name johnson come from?

Johnson: EnglishPatronymicNameMeaning "SonOfJohn (giftOfGod)."John derives from LatinJohannes,whichDerivedFromHebrewYohanann meaning"JehovahHasFavored." SuffixMeaningSonMakesVariations ofJohnsonSurname: English son,Norwegian sen,German sohn,&Swedish sson. Jones is a commonWelshVersion. PerThoughtCo