What is mob griefing in minecraft?

Mob griefing is a mechanic that allows mobs to break blocks or pickup items. Examples include creeper or wither explosions destroying blocks or endermen picking up blocks. You can disable mob griefing using the game rule command on PC or through the menus on console or mobile.