Can i use self rising flour instead of all purpose flour?

Self-rising flour has baking powder and salt in it. You can use it instead of all-purpose if you don't include salt or baking powder the recipe normally calls for. You can use it for gravy, too, but just make a roux or paste before adding it to liquid.