Is it hard to grow mint?

No, mint is likely the easiest herb to grow. In fact, mint roots are incredibly invasive: they quickly grow, sprouting new leaves and new plants as they go. Mint will overtake a flower bed or garden in no time if you're not careful. It is best to confine mint to a pot.