What is u. p. f. fifty?

UPF stands for Ultraviolet Protection Factor and is a rating system to indicate the UV (Ultraviolet) protection provided by fabrics. ... UPF ratings range from 15 to 50, and a higher UPF rating indicates greater protection. Garments that are rated UPF 50+ offer excellent UV protection.