What's the biggest avalanche?

Largest Avalanche Ever: 20,000 Killed. On 31 May 1970, an earthquake off the coast of Peru caused a substantial section of the north slope of Mt. Huascaran to collapse [Situated in the Cordillera Blanca, the world's highest tropical mountain range, Mt. Huascarán rises to 6768m above sea-level.]