Why is abraham lincoln important?

Abraham Lincoln is important because he was the 16th President of the United States. His election in 1860 triggered the secession of the South and the start of the Civil War. As president, Lincoln freed the Confederate slaves with the Emancipation Proclamation in January of 1863.

---

Abraham Lincoln became the United States' 16th President in 1861, issuing the Emancipation Proclamation that declared forever free those slaves within the Confederacy in 1863.