Why do flamingos sleep on one leg?

Flamingos sleep on one leg because sleeping on one leg takes less energy. While standing on two legs, a flamingo uses muscle energy to remain balanced. When propped on one leg, the flamingo's grounded leg locks to balance the flamingo's weight, reduce sway, and reduce energy expenditure.