Can dogs catch viruses from humans?

Dogs can't catch human colds, but cats are at risk, although the odds are very small. Other experts believe that although both cats and dogs can suffer from colds, the viruses are different from the ones that affect humans. Other diseases you can pass along to your pet include: Mumps.