How long should you knead dough for?

work the dough, those strands of gluten are tightening up and getting into line. Kneading for 10-12 minutes by hand or 8-10 minutes in a mixer are the general standards; if you've been massaging the dough for that length of time, you can be pretty confident that you've done your job.