What happens if you don't have enough chromosomes?

A chromosome missing from a pair results in a what's called a monosomy. Missing chromosomes cause various physical conditions, an example of which is Turner syndrome, occurring mostly in girls, and resulting in short stature and infertility. Other monosomies exist.