When did notre dame's live?

Notre Dame generally refers to "The Church of Our Lady" or Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris. As a building it does not live. or die. The mostly fictional story of Quasimodo, the hunchback of Notre Dame, was set in the 15th Century and he dies of starvation when the woman he loves is hanged to death