When was the bullet ant first discovered?

The Bullet Ant, or Paraponera clavata, was first described by zoologist Johan Christian Fabricius in 1775, who named it Formica clavata. Thus incorrectly placing it in the Formica genus. In 1804, P. clavata was transferred to the proper genus, Ponera, by zoologist Pierre André Latreille.