Are sunflowers annuals or perennials?

Most varieties are annual sunflowers, meaning they will not come back the following growing season, they may self-germinate from dropped seeds if you leave the heads on the plants throughout the winter. Maximillian sunflower is a perennial and has small blooms in late summer and early fall.