Is portuguese similar to spanish?

Spanish and Portuguese are the most closely related of the Romance languages all of which have their origins in Latin. The word order is the same, as is the use of gender for common nouns. Portuguese has many slurred sounds. It is a fluid language. In Spanish, words are more deliberate.