What's the average height of a chair rail?

Experts recommend installing it no higher than the lower third of the room. Meaning that for a room with a ceiling height of eight feet, the chair rail would be no higher than 32 inches from the floor. In rooms with higher ceilings, the chair rail could be higher, but not higher than 48 inches.