Is homicide and murder the same thing?

Not exactly......If there was an intent to kill and the scenario which led to a murderous action was cut and dry, the convicted individual will be found guilty of murder. A homicide charge, however, will be present if the intentions were manipulated or were not predetermined or accidental.