What does gold do in fortnite?

Gold bars can be exchanged with any of the bounty NPCs scattered across the map. They can be redeemed for new exotic weapons, upgrades, intel (such as revealing nearby treasure chests), services, and more. You can even enlist certain NPCs to follow you around and defend you.