Why do bettas make bubble nest?

Male bettas build bubble nests instinctively, even if there are no female fish around. When the female lays her eggs, the male catches them in his mouth and puts them in the nest. Securing eggs inside bubbles means that they are kept moist and are surrounded by oxygen-rich air