What's the substitute for mushroom?

For texture and taking on the flavors of the dish, the following options work for replacing mushrooms when cooking: tofu, zucchini, eggplant, squash, artichoke hearts, and olives. Other options that have an earthy flavor are onions, carrots, lentils, and leeks.