How long does it take a caterpillar to become a monarch butterfly?

The process from egg to butterfly is weather dependent and also depends on the regional climate. It can take about four weeks in the peak of the summer in warmer climates. The egg takes 5 to 10 days, the larva caterpillar and pupa chrysalis each take about 10 to 14 days.