What is the population of southeast michigan?

As of the US census of April 1, 2020, there were 4,830,489 people counted living in the 7-county Southeast Michigan region. This region in the "Lower Peninsula" of Michigan includes Detroit. It is home to much of the state's businesses & industries & just over half of the state's population.