What is a mill levy?

A mill is $1.00 per $1000 of assessed property value. It is a voted assessment, generally for a specific governmental or societal necessity. Mill levys also usually run for a specific time. Example "The X School District is asking for an increase in it's operating mill from 2.1 to 3 mills."