What crime did the birdman of alcatraz commit?

Robert Stroud, who was better known to the public as the "Birdman of Alcatraz," murdered a bartender in 1909. Stroud was convicted of first-degree murder and sentenced to hang, but after several trials his sentence was commuted to life imprisonment in solitary confinement.