How many grams of protein does a child need in a day?

Kids require approximately 1-1.5 grams of protein for every TWO pounds of body weight, or more precisely, 1-gram protein per kg (1kg equals 2.2lbs). Thus, a 40-lb, 18.2 kg child needs approximately 18 grams protein per day.