How far down does the ground freeze?

Ground freezes at a rate determined by temperature and snow cover. Snow provides insulation against air temperatures. Several days of sub-zero temps, without snow cover will cause the ground to freeze a couple or more feet down. Water pipes are buried based on max. frost depth.