How fast can a jet go?

Most common passenger jets have a cruising speed of 450 to 500 miles per hour. Military fighter jets can attain speeds of around 2500 to 3000 miles per hour, and NASA’s X43A scramjet has achieved Mach 9.y, or nearly 7000 miles per hour.