Where does vanilla bean come from?

Vanilla comes from the pod of a tropical climbing orchid native to Mexico, and to this day some of the best vanilla beans in the world are produced in Papantla, Mexico.

---

The Vanilla bean is a type of orchid (Vanilla Planifolia) and is an epiphyte that lives on a host tree. It’s a vine that grows rapidly up and around an existing tree, but does not draw on the tree’s nutrients. It can take up to 3 years before it begins to grow vanilla bean pods.