What is the cat population of the world?

Cats are common pets in all continents of the world (except Antarctica), and their global population is difficult to ascertain, with estimates ranging from anywhere between 200 million to 600 million. In 1998 there were around 76 million cats in Europe, 7 million in Japan and 3 million in Australia.